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Explanatory document for the 
implementation of t.124 

and 
Frequently asked Questions (FAQ) – 

Unwillingness to Fight (U2F) 
 

 

This FAQ aims at facilitating a common understanding and  implementation of the new rule on 

U2F  by  all  concerned.  Please  do  not  hesitate  to  contact  the  FIE  Sport  Department  for  any 

additional questions  that might arise  from  the  future  competitions. This FAQ will be updated 

and published on the FIE website.  

 

I. Preamble 
 

P1. Definition of P‐cards: 
 

 There are three different P‐Cards: P‐Yellow, P‐Red and P‐Black. 

 P‐Yellow is a warning. 

 P‐Red is a penalty hit. 

 P‐Black is a penalisation, the consequence of which is the possible losing of the bout or 

match. There is no 60‐day suspension for P‐Black cards. 
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P2. Use of P‐Cards: 
 

 P‐Cards are only to be used in the context of t.124. The sanctions awarded for U2F are 

not cumulative with any other sanctions awarded.  

 In individual competitions, P‐Cards are awarded to each fencer separately starting with 

a P‐Yellow card. 

 If the fencers receive P‐Black cards simultaneously and their scores are equal, the fencer 

with  the higher  initial  seeding  in  the  competition, which  is based on  the  FIE  ranking, 

wins the bout. 

 In individual competitions, if the fencers receive P‐Black cards simultaneously, and their 

scores are not equal, the fencer with the higher score wins the bout. 

 If a P‐Black  card  is given  to both  teams  simultaneously and neither of  the  teams  can 

make a replacement and their scores are equal, the team with the higher initial seeding 

in the competition, which is based on the FIE ranking, wins the match. 

 If a P‐Black  card  is given  to both  teams  simultaneously and neither of  the  teams  can 

make a replacement and their scores are not equal, the team with the higher score wins 

the match.      

 In team competitions, P‐Yellow and P‐Red cards are awarded to each team separately, 

starting with a P‐Yellow card. 

 In team competitions, the P‐Black card is awarded to the fencer and not to the team. 

 After  the  replacement  of  a  fencer  following  the  receipt  of  a  P‐Black  card,  a  further 

occurrence of U2F  leads  to a  further P‐Black card and  the  team  in question  loses  the 

match.  

 In both individual and team competitions, the period/relay continues after the awarding 

of a P‐Yellow or a P‐Red card.  

 In team competitions, after a replacement following the awarding of a P‐Black card, the 

relay in question continues.  

 No P‐cards (Y, R, B) at all can be awarded in individual at 14:14 or in teams at 44:44. 

 

 

P3. Validity of P‐Cards: 
 

 P‐Cards are only valid  for  the bout/match  (throughout  the 9  relays)  in question. They 

are not transferable to the next bout/match. 

 Replacement of fencers awarded P‐black: 

In  the  team events  a  fencer who has  received  a P‐Black  card  can be  replaced by  the 

reserve  fencer,  if  there  is  one  and  if  the  replacement  has  not  already  been  made 

previously for tactical or medical reasons. 

 

P4. Calling U2F: 
 

 In case of U2F, it is up to the referee to call “Halt” as a decision of fact. 
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 The  one minute  should  be  restarted  after  each  hit,  each  hit  off  the  target,  each  hit 

cancelled and each penalty hit. 

 

 In any additional minute as defined in t.40.3 and t.41.5, t.124 does not apply since the 
priority will decide the winner in case no hit is scored during the minute.  

 

P5. Ranking and points after P‐Black: 
 

 For both individual and team competitions, fencers/teams who lose the bout/match as 

a result of receiving a P‐Black card, will be ranked in the final results of the competition  

as having lost the bout/match. They receive the corresponding points.  
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II. Questions 
 

Q1. Is there an easy way to escape from this lovely rule? 
 

 YES – do not practice U2F... 

 

Q2. Is there only one definition for U2F? 
 

 YES, the definition is one minute of fencing without a hit or without a hit scored off the 

target. In order to win a bout, which should be the goal, a fencer should score hits... 

 

Q3. What does “When one or both fencers make clear their unwillingness to 

fight” mean? 
 

 

 The rule defines it as meaning that there has been one minute without a hit or without a 

hit scored off the target.  

 

 

Q4. If the referee awards P‐Yellow or P‐Red– does the bout/match move to the 

next period/relay? 
 

 NO – the bout/match continues and there is no more moving to the next period/relay. 

 

Q5. Should t.162 be updated to consider the new P‐cards? 
 

 The  rule  voted  clearly  states  that  the  sanctions  awarded  for U2F  are not  cumulative 

with any other sanction awarded. 

 In  order  to  avoid  any  confusion,  the  following  text  could  be  added  to  t.162:  “See 

exceptions for P‐cards in article t.124.”  

 

Q6. Bob must replace his weapon during the bout: the referee checked it and it 

failed the test. Bob has already received a P‐Yellow card. Does Bob get a yellow 

card or a red one? 
 

 P‐Cards are not cumulative with any other sanction awarded and therefore, Bob gets a 

Yellow  card  (provided  it  is  the  first  time  his  equipment  has  failed,  and  he  has  not 

received any other Yellow card warning). 
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Q7. What happens if both fencers do not fence, e.g. by retreating to their 

respective ends of the piste? 
 

 The  referee should stop  the match and  inform  the  fencers  that  if  they continue  they 

will  be  penalised  according  to  t.112  (refusal  to  obey  the  referee).  Fencing  means 

fighting, not resting on the piste.  

 Fencers must  fence during  the whole  time and not decide  for  themselves when  they 

want to go to the break. 

 It is the duty of the referee to apply the rules strictly. Referees should NOT accept that 

fencers stop before  the end of  the official  time and should  therefore apply sanctions 

whenever required.  

 

Q8. Can John get a P‐Red card without having received a P‐Yellow card? 
 

 No! 

 

Q9. Can John get a P‐Black card without having received two P‐Red cards? 
 

 No! 

 

Q10. In the text for team events in English, c) mentions “fencers” though the lines 

before and after mention “teams”. The French and Spanish rules mention 

“teams”. Is it a typing mistake? 
 

 It is indeed a typing mistake in the English version of c) which will be corrected. 

 

Q11. Where should the fencers be put on guard when the bout resumes after the 

referee has awarded a P‐Yellow card? 
 

 The bout will continue at the position fencers were  in when the referee stopped the bout 

with the command “Halt”. 

 

Q12. The Referee shows P‐cards for U2F to fencers and teams who know what they 

mean and imply. But how can we make these P‐cards visible and 

understandable for the media and spectators? 
 

 As  with  any  new  rule,  we  will  have  to  communicate  about  it.  P‐cards  will  soon  be 

displayed separately and clearly on the score‐boards.                  


